4 Opportunities to Edit and Evaluate Your Goals

A lot of folks set up their resolutions or goals at the new year and re-evaluate them again at the next. However, there are other opportunities throughout the year to evaluate and edit your goals. Today I’ll share a few of my favorites.

Your Birthday

Every year around my birthday, I like to take some time and re-evaluate my goals. What have I accomplished over this past year? What do I hope to accomplish in the coming year? When I look back at this year, what do I hope to remember?

An Anniversary

Any anniversary is a great time to take a look at your goals. Whether it’s to celebrate your wedding/dating/engagement anniversary or to commemorate the start or conclusion to a time of your life, anniversaries provide the opportunity to see how you can make improvements.

The Start of the School Year

I guess because I’m a student and I work in education, I LOVE the start of the school year in the fall. I use it as a reason to spruce up my wardrobe and upgrade my office supplies. Other than my birthday, the start of the school year is my favorite time of the year to look at my goals. It’s my chance to start fresh with new classes, new ideas and new people, goal evaluation fits right in. What kinds of relationships do I want to cultivate with my new classmates? What do I hope to achieve in my classes?

At the Season Change

Changes in season equates to changes in our living environment. The temperature changes, the foliage changes and with that comes changes in perspective. How will this season be different? Are you invigorated in re-establishing your goals? Does the crisp fall air inspire you to get back into taking walks after work? Does the spring produce inspire you to get in alignment with your health goals?


All these aside, you can make a fresh start and get acquainted with your goals at any time – tomorrow morning, first thing on Monday or even after lunch! There’s never a better time than now!

How often do you evaluate your goals? When do you make your fresh starts?

Leave a Reply

